Welcome!

Not counting the day of the wedding, I have been married for exactly 17 days.  In those days I have cried in private, cried with my friends, cried in front of my husband, and yes, also laughed a lot.  In conversations over the past few months, I have come to the conclusion that there are far too few people honestly talking about what it means to become or be a wife.  I don't mean in a theoretical or esotoric sense.  I mean in the day-to-day decisions we each make. 

Imagine the following: A person is sitting on the couch, folding freshly dried clothing.  The person's roommate comes home, says hello, and turns on the tv to see what's happening in the world.  They exchange a few words about their days, and then both watch the tv, before one gets up to make some dinner. A completely normal situation between two roommates, right?? 

Now, stick some labels into the story and you get this: A wife is sitting on the couch, folding freshly dried clothing.  Her husband comes home, says hello, and turns on the tv to see the game.  They exchange a few words about their days, and then both watch the tv, before she gets up to make some dinner.

I read that and am horrified!  Why would she do that???  And yet, it's the exact situation I found myself in less than a week ago.  It threw me for a huge loop – none of what I was doing seemed problematic, except when viewed through the husband/wife lens.  It suddenly became this monstrosity of a "is this how our marriage will be?"  It didn't seem so appealing all of a sudden.

Hence, this blog.  The title is a direct reference to Ann Kingston's book, entitled The Meaning of Wife, which I read at some point before we were even engaged.  I invite you to join me on an exploration of the meaning of wife, as I experience it.  The decisions I make, and the thoughts and feelings that go along with it.  Who knew "wife" was so complex?

1 Comment

  1. Mr WordPress said,

    June 14, 2006 at 12:05 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

