Immediate Gratification

I love mopping my floors!  Some people might think that says all sorts of things about me as a wife: “she’s so wifely,” “of course a wife would like to mop her floors,” “well, she better like it cause she’ll be doing it for a long time!”  The list goes on. 

I’ve liked mopping for a long time now.  I didn’t grow up mopping floors.  In fact, I’m not sure that my mom ever mops her floors.  She’s got this extension on her vacuum that seems to do the trick; that, and spot-cleaning.  Mopping is so instantaneous.  As opposed to sweeping (I know, a prerequisite to the good ol’ mop), which leaves little dust pieces everywhere and you can’t quite get them.  When you mop the streaks and spots and little messes just disappear.  Usually not even too much elbow grease is needed!  And we have this great pepperminty castille soap so it’s even a little bit aroma-therapeutic. 

It’s also a good chance to reflect on the past week(s).  It’s not hard work, and so my mind is free to roam, to go places it wants to.  I’ll pop in the Chicks and let their lyrics guide me into feelings and experiences from the past week.  Like about apologies and forgiveness; like stepping out where people can see your face; and love.  My husband told me he married me whether or not I’m busy – as in, I can be messy and he’ll still love me!  He has an amazing ability to know, in his gut, that I (and others around us) am doing the best I can.  My best truly is good enough.  How amazing.  And now I’m mopping my floors…

Leave a Reply

