Which one’s weirder?

I found out the other day that these couple friends of ours have “no farting” rules in their home.  This made me wonder: how many couples have “no farting” vs. “yay to farting!” rules in their home?  Seriously.  Am I the odd one out here, or are they?  For some reason it feels important to know which one it is.   

And how is this different from just being roommates?  That one, I actually have an answer to.   When you’re roommates with someone, you still have your own personal bedrooms.  Close the door, and you’re in the “farting-safe” zone, open it, and you need to share your air.  When you’re married, all that changes, and suddenly people have two choices: extend the “no-fart zone” to the entire home, or abandon it altogether.   

A good friend of mine, to the best of my knowledge, has still never farted out loud in front of her husband.  This is amazing to me.  Apparently, 57% of Japanese wives haven’t either.

Is farting in marriage another sign of intimacy?  Or a sign of disrespect?  And who’s to say? 

I wish I could cleverly end this post, but it seems like there are too many unknowns for me to do that.  Even after extensive googling (and coming up with a lot of, uhm, inappropriate materials *blush*) I still don’t know whether it’s weird to fart, or not to fart, in the marriage home.  All I know is that one is smelly, the other painful.  Seems like a losing situation.

5 Comments

  1. alissa said,

    January 10, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    we fart. and laugh about it. but we also try to be respectful. i try not to fart when we’re having a tender moment so as not to disturb the mood.

  2. Jane said,

    January 11, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Gotta support the mood!

  3. Tim said,

    January 16, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Our marriage is pro-farting and pro-burping (and that’s been part of our relationship almost from the beginning). So that’s 3 farters, and 0 non-farters. The farters have it.

  4. kate said,

    February 9, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Totally pro-farting. I may have taken it a bit too far, though, the other night. No need to share details, I think.

  5. cdubs said,

    April 5, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    My officemate’s father is a gastroenterologist, so I have learned that farting and burping is good and often necessary. So at home, pro-farting, pro-burping all the way! That’s what makes it home!


Leave a Reply

