Birthday Wife

One distinct advantage of being married (or having any type of life partner) is that you get to feel extra special on your birthday.  Husbands have the luxury of spreading the word that your birthday is today, resulting in happy birthdays from people all day long.  They also have the ability to wake you up singing happy birthday so that you feel special from the second your eyes open.

I remember that as a kid, that feeling of “whoa!  It’s my birthday, this day is going to be the best!” was almost innate; it happened before anyone else saw me awake.  As an adult though, I often forget it’s my birthday.  MrH’s lovely wishes as I woke up immediately brought me back to that kid-space and I feel giddy with excitement about the possibility of this day.  Sometimes, things are more fun when you’re married!

1 Comment

  1. alissa said,

    January 19, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!


Leave a Reply

