Centering

I needed a few days to find myself.  In all the hustle and bustle of uploading pictures and celebrating the beauty of hour new home, I forgot about who I am.  I started picking out curtains in my head, and chairs through the online shopping websites; I decided on what color dish towels, and forgot to write, pray, or work out. 

Funny thing is, I didn’t realize any of this until now, at the start of my second day off.  I had noticed I was fighting with MrH, and with each fight, I ended it in thinking: “this isn’t about you or me, this is about the fact that I’m exhausted and can’t keep going on.”  Then it finally clicked and I scheduled two days to get out of work, out of working on the house, and instead do the things I love. 

It feels luxurious and completely undeserved, but yesterday I got to go to Trader Joe’s and pick up all my favorite snacks; I was able to go to the bead store and make a sexy the earringspair of new earrings; I was even able to use my giftcard for a second set of gym clothes.  When MrH came home, I wasn’t ready for him yet so I watched The Notebook.  Have you ever seen that movie?  It’s beautiful!  The love between a husband and his wife, wow!  I may need to write a whole separate post about that one, it’s good!   

So now I still have an entire day to go, and I might actually spend some time cleaning here, or painting at the new place.  Either way, the plan is to keep taking time for myself when I need it.  The plan is to do some writing, or get in a workout, make some earrings or whatever, every day!  Those are the times for me to center myself.  And to remember that the house isn’t about how gorgeous it’ll be; the house is about becoming a home to anyone who needs it.

1 Comment

  1. bov said,

    March 29, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Good for you! It’s amazing how easy it is to get pulled off-center, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

