Spa-Night Dinner

I’m contemplating initiating a weekly “spa night” where I treat myself to delicious and nutitious foods.  Ok, maybe more delicious than nutritious, but not of the fried anything variety.  MrH wouldn’t be into this: when pressed, he’ll pronounce bland foods as his favorites.  I don’t mean that he lists foods that are bland and I draw the conclusion, the direct quote is that “I like bland foods.”  And there it is. 

So the inspiration for this spa-night, besides the fact that I like to pretend I’m wildly famous and being served perfect foods by top chefs, was my dinner tonight.  At Trader Joe’s last week I bought this delicious wedge of triple cream brie cheese (if you’ve never at the triple cream, regardless of the variety, try it!).  Of course, brie cheese isn’t as average as regular old cheddar or swiss, so MrH won’t eat it.  Creative meals here I come!  I took the brie cheese, spread it on a slice of fresh bread, and found some red grapes in the fridge.  I sliced those up, stuck them on the brie, and added another slice of bread.  Fry on both sides till the cheese is melted, add a little side salad of field greens and Tuscan dressing, and voila!  Delicious and fancy-feeling dinner.

Oh and what does this have to be with the meaning of “wife?”  Just that sometimes, to be a “good” wife means letting your husband eat his boxed mac and cheese so that you can have the dinner that makes you feel like the fun and creative person you are! 

3 Comments

  1. MrH said,

    April 5, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    yes, I read the blog, and yes, I’m still waiting for my taste buds to develop. 🙂

  2. Jane said,

    April 6, 2007 at 6:58 am

    I’m not critizing the passion for bland foods, just commenting on our difference in taste preferences 😉 And hey, cheddar cheese is pretty darn good too, especially on crackers. Mmm.

  3. cdubs said,

    April 9, 2007 at 9:46 am

    I think it’s getting harder and harder to expect both sides of a mixed cultural relationship to agree on the food every night of their lives. Sometimes I just want my salad and ramen and sushi, but he wants meat and potatoes. I am in awe of my parents who both eat the same style food all the time, but I guess that’s not quite a mixed cultural relationship :-).


Leave a Reply

