On the prowl…

For chairs, that is!  As MrH and I are discussing the various room arrangements in our new house, I realized that for each room I’ve said “oh, and we should have a chair in that room too, so I can sit and read!”  Well, we have been looking on good ol’ craigslist and found our first chair.  our chair- kind ofIt looks kind of sort of like this one, although ours is an olive green with neutral cushion.  Depending on where it winds up, I might end up making a little pillowcase for the cushion – something fun and funky in a big-print kind of fabric.  While some might think the olive might go perfectly with the teal couches (after all, they’re both green!), I secretly want it to go in the guestroom. 

Speaking of the guestroom (which we just finished painting today), I’m super excited to have my little writing desk in there.  Writing is such a private activity, and the idea of being able to have my own little desk in a room that nobody uses on a daily basis feels luxurious and exciting.  Of course, so does the idea of having a bed all made up for anyone who needs it.  I wonder who the first person(s) will be!

Back to the whole craigslist thing.  It is a beautiful website – we have found our first chair, we have arranged to pick up 80 moving boxes, and continue to look.  It is one of those things that completely sucks you in, losing track of time, forgetting about meals, etc.  However, that’s when my dear husband reminds me of the time, and we figure out where our dinner will come from tonight.  Alright, back to prowling, before MrH reminds me of the time…

2 Comments

  1. cdubs said,

    April 9, 2007 at 9:47 am

    try http://www.freecycle.org. similar to craisglist, but free. great way to find stuff and get rid of extra stuff.

  2. Jane said,

    April 11, 2007 at 6:14 am

    I do like freecycle as well, though up here it’s not as much used as the free pages on craigslist. But yes, gooo freecycle! (PS-picked up a free, solid wood headboard yesterday, yippee!)


Leave a comment