Stellar Women

If I had known, before moving to Boston, about the stellar women I would meet, I’d have moved here ten years ago!  But I had no idea.  In fact, I probably wouldn’t even have recognized a stellar woman even if I saw her.  In fact, I didn’t, and today I continue to be amazed by the non-Boston stellar women in my life (you know who you are!).

So what describes a stellar woman?  Well, google images doesn’t come up with much.  Let me describe my most recent experience with stellar women:

In a conversation with a friend, I let it out that the whole moving experience had been a lot for me, and that poor MrH was bearing the brunt of it all.  She empathized and even offered to come help, but in terms of scheduling that I just didn’t see it happen.  So MrH and I went to family dinner, and when we came back he turned to me and said “you know, there’s kind of something I need to tell you about the house.”  My heart about stopped, especially when he placed his hand on my knee and had this very protective stance.  “You see, we had some people over.”  My heart did not start back up at this.  “Well, your friend A called me and asked if she and some others could come over to help with the unpacking.  Anyway, I gave them a list, I hope that’s ok…”

The definition of stellar women.  I get to be part of a community of them, seven of us who gather every other week.  Seven of us who have dreams of us still walking together, arm in arm, fifty years from now.  While I had at first had feelings of “wow, I’m forever in debt to you,” I then realized that it’s not about repaying, or prepaying, or any kind of paying.  I realized that this was an act of love, and that we are each called to our own acts of love.  I realized that God resources each of us when we need it, and that might be through our stellar women friends.  I realized that there is no way to thank these women other than to say “thank you.  God is good.”  And I realized that we’re not keeping track, there was no attendance sheet, and it’s up to me to recognize and love the stellar women in my life.  Whether they unpack my house or not. 

2 Comments

  1. cdubs said,

    May 3, 2007 at 8:34 am

    I envy you. I wish I had friends like that.

  2. amycat said,

    May 5, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out! I’m so glad that you realized that it’s totally not about payment, of any form. Well stated. And it was very fun for us, promise.


Leave a Reply

