Moving Towards Courage

My eyes are teary and there’s a little twist in my belly.  I just re-read my blog entries from our last D’Iberville trip and I’m reminded.  Having been happy-go-lucky about this second trip, someone thanked me today for having the courage to go back and do the hard work of rebuilding.

Wait a second.  Hard work?  Rebuilding?  Eek!  This is scary!  And now I’m reminded, too, of the emotional work; the spiritual growth.  How did I overlook those aspects?  What other aspects were there??

“Courage is just faith in action.”  I read that tonight and was struck by it.   Do I have enough faith that God will, again, provide for us?  That God will make this trip, too, fruitful for us and those we serve?  That our time together will bring us closer, and that we will be strong enough for the physical labor, sprinkled (or maybe even flooded) by the hard emotional work of listening?  Enough faith that I will walk away renewed, more faith-filled and faithful, and better knowing God?  If so, then I will have shown courage.

“Don’t be afraid, because I am with you. Don’t be intimidated; I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will support you with my victorious hand.” Isaiah 41:10

1 Comment

  1. kate said,

    November 5, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    I”ve been thinking of you this past week. I trust that God came through, in surprising ways too. Welcome home.


Leave a Reply

